News from BSO


Date: July 13, 2017                                                                       PIO Number: 17-7-13



2 p.m. Thursday, July 13, 2017

Lauderhill Performing Arts Center

 3800 N.W. 11th Place, Lauderhill


When George Duncan joined the Broward Sheriff’s Office, Richard Nixon was in the White House and the Miami Dolphins made history on their way to a perfect season. For 45 years, he has served residents of Broward County with honor, dignity and devotion. Duncan and dozens of other longtime employees will be recognized today at the Lauderhill Performing Arts Center. Broward Sheriff Scott Israel will swear in 33 law enforcement deputies and 12 detention deputies, and will announce the promotion of 58 sworn officers and 29 civilian employees.

The following deputies are accepting the Oath of Office at BSO’s Swearing-In, Promotions and Longevity Awards Ceremony:

Department of Law Enforcement

Wade Alcover, Eliana Amiel, Brittany Armstrong , Bruno Avila, Michael Brooks, Brett Cassidy, Henry Castro, Bryan Chew, Daniel Cortes, Meagan Curran, Connor Eaton, Heberto Garcia, Alvaro Gomez, Evelyn  Gomez, Michael Gontko, Heather Hamby, Jessica Hamel, Darren Holewinski, Mitchell Machado Ashley  Martinez, Willard Miller, Gary Moore, Robert O'Dor, Bianca Oliveira, Taylor O'Reilly, Christopher Perez, Sophie Riggs, Pierre Saintil II, Tyson Schwartz,  Tony Sun, Ethan Van Til, Francine Yap,  and Steven Zvolensky.

Department of Detention

Christian Anda, Dwayne Angus, Antoinette Clarke, Allen Dorvil, Joe Downs, Kernst Joseph, Nicholas Lantini, Keturah Lewis Edwards, Lashonda May, Shaliya McCalister, Shonte Samuels, Jemiah Thomas.

Please join the men and women of BSO in welcoming these new employees to one of the largest fully-accredited sheriff’s offices in the nation.


Joy Oglesby/PIO

Posted At: 07/13/2017 10:02 AM

Print News Packet

Back to Current News

Translate This Page: