News from BSO


January 4, 2001 / 8:30 a.m.
Amaturo Theatre at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts
201 SW 5 Ave., Ft. Lauderdale

Forty-four members of the Broward Sheriff's Office are starting the new year in new leadership positions as they are officially being promoted by Sheriff Ken Jenne in a Friday morning ceremony. Deputies assigned to BSO’s Department of Law Enforcement, Department of Detention and Community Control, and support units are in line for promotion.

Lt. Andrew Smalling is being promoted to Chief of Lauderdale Lakes and Lt. Kevin Tyrie becomes chief of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea. Lt. Laureano “Tony” Varona becomes chief of BSO District 9 (unincorporated Pompano).

Lieutenants Peter Achilare and Richard Moss are being promoted to captain.

Commander Rickey Clarke is being promoted to the rank of lieutenant, as are Sergeants Kevin Butler, John Callaghan, Michael Davis, Kyriakos Dourvetakis, Gregory Flynn, Dora Higgs, George Jarboe, Donald McCuaig, Angela Neely, Erich Overhultz, Donn Peterson, and Desiree Shirley.

The following deputies are being promoted to sergeant: Frances Breneman, Rodney Brimlow, George Colt, Edward Cunanan, Ronnie DeAngelo, Joaquin Donis, Andrew Dunbar, Rosa Farrington, Stephen Feeley, Neal Glassman, Randy Gresham, Mary Guess, Adam Hofstein, Robert Lee, Reed Lorber, Deborah McKinney, Thomas O’Brien, Adalberto Rodriguez, Spencer Steele, Peter Sudler, Jacqueline White, Karen Watson, Nancy Winfrey and Edward Wolff.

Mr. Bill Garcia is being promoted to Jail Maintenance Supervisor and Ms. Debra Lesniak is being named Probation Manager.
This report by:

Jim Leljedal / Media Relations

Posted At: 01/03/2002 05:03 PM

Print News Packet

Back to Current News

Translate This Page: