Contractor Licensing and Fraud Unit

Before signing an agreement with any contractor, consumers should carefully review the agreement and verify a contractor's license and track record. Florida law requires that contractors taking more than a 10% deposit for a project must make application for permit within 30 days and commence work within 90 days of the issuance of a permit. Florida law additionally requires that contractors generally must continue work on projects without lapses of more than 60 days. Consumers should familiarize themselves with Florida's construction lien laws (sections 713.001 - 713.37), or consult an attorney regarding your rights or responsibilities regarding construction contracts.

For more information on working with contractors and state and county regulations, visit these web sites:

State of Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
Broward County Central Examining Board
State of Florida Worker's Compensation Division
Specialized Units Main Page
Aviation Unit
Bicycle Patrol
Bomb Squad
Canine Unit
Child Protective Investigations Section
Crime Scene
Crime Lab
Crime Stoppers Unit
Criminal Investigations Division
Dive Team
DUI Unit
Economic Crime Unit
Evidence Unit
Marine Unit
Metro Broward Drug Task Force
Motorcycle Unit
SWAT Team
Victim Services Unit

Translate This Page: